The Minaj Skirt

Can you guess why I called it the Minaj skirt and what do you know my first name is Nicki too lol.

I need a beeper when I walk backwards 🙂

Does this skirt make my ass look fat?? For once it’s not actually my ass lol.

DSC_4282

I decided to go ahead and use the last cotton fabric I had bought to make my 3rd skirt.

I designed a long pencil skirt with a slit in the back, it has double peplums only in the back. I wanted to mimic the old Victorian ruffle back type of skirts that have bustles.  I found the peplums fanned out too much:

IMG_0452

VS

DSC_4284

So I further manipulated the fabric by rouching the peplums with clear elastic to get more of a “fluffy butt” (faux bustle) look. This skirt is also fully lined and has a facing waist band, invisible side zip and small clasp for closing. Sort of Victorian Retro meets Steampunk minus the gadgetry don’t you think? 😉

IMG_0464 IMG_0466

Here are a few more pics just for fun:

DSC_4281

DSC_4279 DSC_4277 DSC_4275IMG_0479 IMG_0476IMG_0474

Ok hopefully I am done with that “bee in my bonnet” and I can move on to making tops with my bodice sloper!!

Happy Sewing 🙂

 

12 thoughts on “The Minaj Skirt

  1. If I’m honest, it’s not my favourite of the 3 (1 and 2 would take some beating in my eyes!) but how you’ve styled it with the different blue tops and the shoes (I LOVE those shoes!!) it works really well. Wish you had a pic before you’d rushed up your bottom!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Ali it is good to get all kinds of feedback and I really appreciate your honesty 🙂 As far as the drape of the peplums it was exactly the same as the muslin even on the bias. (I think because I designed it to be so full and partly because this cotton is a good thickness and has a stiffer drape) In fact I thought of the rouching because my husband was critiquing my design and said it looked a bit funny because it fanned out to much on the sides lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rather than making your butt look big, it is sort of camouflage. It doesn’t look like butt–it just looks like the style of the skirt. I agree you have paired it with a perfect top and shoes. The colors are really good for you, too. All in all, cute outfit, fun to wear to casual summer events!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Now I see them! Very cute skirt! Clever of you to try out variations of your skirt sloper. I have seen blogs wher the author only makes period garments. Your bustle is quite close to what they make. Now you need a velvet, long sleeved, high neck, buttoned jacket to go with it. Hmm. Aren’t you working on bodice slopers next? Anyway, good for you pursuing your “sloper addiction” and I look forward to seeing more designer originals from you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Linda and yes I am going to try and resist making more skirts. I am going to start playing around with the bodice sloper and dart manipulation. Unfortunately to make a complete top with collar and sleeves you need to continue on down that drafting road and 2 or 3 more courses. So that is a long time away as it takes me a few months just to get through one course if I spend many hours a week that is. My children get off school soon and I will be pretty busy and won’t be posting much till the fall when they go back to school.

      I hope to still keep up with my reading blogs though and have my sewing fix through you guys 😘

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment