Bodacious Booty Skirt Design

IMG_0448

I am having so much fun with skirt drafting designs. I love vintage patterns especially historical dresses that have back bustles. So this is my inspiration with this design I sewed it up in muslin to see if I would like it. The back peplums I could not put on the bias due to lack of muslin so the drape is not as good as it could be plus I couldn’t put them on a fold for the same reason.

I wanted to have a longer skirt but maybe too long? I will have a side zip in this skirt so I don’t disrupt the back peplums. I still have a back center seam on this dress because I wanted to have a slit since this skirt does taper down and is essentially another pencil skirt. The slit gives much-needed room to walk in this long pencil skirt design.

The peplum design line itself I think I will narrow so it doesn’t fan out so much in the back, I want it to drape down more but again it would have a better drape if it was on bias. I think I am just going to have a facing for this skirt or else it will be just another straight waistband.

IMG_0450 IMG_0451 IMG_0452 IMG_0454 IMG_0448

So what do you guys think? Too corny? Or different and cute? What sort of fabric would you use for this skirt?

Here is a pic of another pattern I drafted that is sort of a mermaid type of design fitted to flared but I need 60 inch fabric for this to work as it needs to go onto the bias and it is also a long skirt.  I also drafted a circle skirt that is mid calf length and also puts me in the same fabric conundrum!!

DSC_4269

Happy Sewing 🙂

15 thoughts on “Bodacious Booty Skirt Design

  1. There’s a lot of fabric for something which could be too special and end up only suitable for occasional wear. But i think if you did the bustle in a slightly different fabric to the skirt and made a simple top to match the bustle it would make a stunning outfit. 😃
    Your really making me want to start drafting. But I’ve set myself a goal to loose 1/2 stone by the end of June so going to wait until then.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Its going to be a stunning skirt! You could go with a shiny satin fabric it looks nice on the bias…or a rich colour brocade. I think it would need a matching jacket…..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ha! There is no stopping you now! I think your peplum idea is really chic, fancy! I can’t imagine how much fabric it would take, but I think a draped fabric would be lovely. I spend months looking for the right fabric for the pattern sitting in the back of my mind. I’m sure once you see your’s you will know it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Linda 🙂 Ya I spent a few hours looking at online fabric but the problem is if you don’t really know about all the fashion fabrics out there then you don’t know how it will drape but I think I may start ordering small amounts and making swatches at the same time to educate myself 🙂
      As far as this skirt is concerned I thought I would have nothing to loose and use the 3rd fabric I already bought and have it almost all constructed all ready…..problem is trying to find a top to flatter that sort of skirt lol

      Like

      • I know fabric.com will send pretty good sized swatches for umm… Just over a dollar each I think. I have used them alright. I have started keeping track very carefully about fabric content over the last couple of years. There are things I like and things I don’t, and I don’t want to make the mistake of buying what I don’t like. Maybe you should make a fitted top for the “poofy” bottom? Just a thought! Looking forward to it whatever you chose to do!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment