Pencil Skirt with Flounce (custom made by me)!!

DSC_4152

I have oodles and oodles of pictures to share with you!! I am so excited about how this skirt turned out! Thank you CRAFTSY and your drafting courses!!

Ok so I drafted a high-waisted pencil skirt, with a flounce and facing. It was so nice to cut into REAL fabric for a change and not MUSLIN!

Here is the skirt shell: Check out my darts, no bubbles on the vanishing point of the darts! YAY! These courses will make you really good at darts and confident with your construction.

DSC_4129DSC_4126

The invisible zip went in surprisingly well. I don’t know why but zippers always make me nervous and are usually a bitch to put in!  I interfaced this area with fusible interfacing.

DSC_4125DSC_4128DSC_4127

I basted the side seams and tried it on, it was perfect so I went ahead and sewed it for real. I also serged the edges to get a clean look.

I prepared my flounces and facing:

DSC_4123 DSC_4124

I cut out my lining and pleated the dart areas. I serged it and pressed it ready for applying the facing:

DSC_4122DSC_4131 DSC_4132DSC_4134

The facing got sewed onto the skirt, everything matched up very well. I edged stitch along the facing so that it would stay put better. The lining is folded up a 1/4 inch twice for a clean finish:

DSC_4135DSC_4136DSC_4138DSC_4133

Now comes the flounces:

I prepped these by stabilizing the inner circle by stitching both the material and the lining. I stitched them together along the outer edge with a 1/4 inch seam allowance. I took my time to clip the lining and fashion fabric, staggering the clips so that when they are turned they will fan out nicely with no “gaposis”

DSC_4142 DSC_4139 DSC_4140

It’s a bitch to do but if you open up the seams first on a pressing hem before turning you will get a nice finished smooth look.  A clapper helps with that too 🙂

DSC_4141DSC_4143

I attached the flounce to the skirt then clipped gently into the lining to help turn under to sew in place.

DSC_4146

I was so excited to finish this skirt I hand sewed the lining around the zipper and the whole lining of the flounce in place all in one night doing the tiniest slip stitches. It took 3 hours! Ta da!!

DSC_4147

Close up of flounce…..

DSC_4148

Lining near the zip…

DSC_4149

Inside out, upside down, sunny side up!!!!!! I know, I know, I have a ton of pictures.  Can you tell I am excited or what??!! ;)…..

DSC_4150

and another close up for giggles…

DSC_4151

Ok here are some pics of me wearing it so you can actually see the fit 🙂 I have a major hole in my wardrobe to find a top that will go with this high-waisted style but what I had wasn’t too horrible.

DSC_4152 DSC_4153 DSC_4154 DSC_4155 DSC_4156 DSC_4157

23 thoughts on “Pencil Skirt with Flounce (custom made by me)!!

  1. Excellent! I am so happy to see you have a successful finish to you skirt sloper course. I’m not a fan of pink BUT I love your fabric. I must keep an open mind and mix my pink with black next time because it is really cute! Looks like you nailed the fit! Did you get the flounce idea from your own imagination or a pattern or a course? Nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The pencil skirt with the flounce is in the course. After the sloper, there are a few chapters that show you how to construct different skirts such as A line, pencil, bias,circle skirt etc. She also shows you how to construct linings, facings, waistbands, slits, pleats, etc. So I am going to just follow along with the course and try these different skirt variations. And thank you for all your kind words 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m excited for you!!! You look amazing in it…the style, the fit, the fabric… Everything! I confess to scrolling at super speed to the end to see it worn, then going back and reading and looking at all your pics. You can never have too many pics for me. How about, in the same fabric, a fitted top using your other sloper? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • ahhh yes the dreaded bodice sloper (my nemesis) I haven’t perfected the fit on that yet I hope to work on that a bit today but yes I may try that once I tweak the bodice fit. Thanks for the tip and the compliments 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: The Abby A-Line Skirt | Sewing with Scooby Snacks

  4. Oh my giddy aunt! I missed this on my feed till now! Stunning and beautifully made. The neat details and finish is amazing. And you look so lovely in it. I have to start work on an empire line too😃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment