Oven Roasted Meatballs

IMG_0069

Homemade meatballs are indeed time-consuming, I won’t lie ……. BUT once you have eaten homemade meatballs  you just can’t possibly go back to store-bought!  I hate the messy greasy job of  frying them in the pan, so I eliminated that step by throwing them in the oven instead.  To get the softest meatballs I have used a ratio of 3:1 (3 eggs for 1 lb of ground beef) Also this is where you want to splurge on calories and get 80/20 ground beef. Of course the addition of milk and bread crumbs also adds to the texture.

I usually buy a huge package of ground beef from Costco 7 lbs or so and I make a huge batch and take the morning to cook them up and then I have many meals of meatballs that I freeze.  I love just eating them with a bit of marinara sauce and fresh cheese, meatball subs, spaghetti and meatballs, sweet and sour meatballs etc 🙂

Oven Roasted Meatballs

  • Servings: 15-20
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 4 lbs of ground beef 80/20
  • 12 large eggs
  • 2 cups of milk
  • 2 cups of panko bread crumbs
  • 1/3 cup of fresh garlic chopped fine
  • 1 1/2 cups of finely chopped onions
  • 1/3 cup of parsley finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup of basil finely chopped
  • 1 cup of grated parmesan cheese
  • 2 tsp of freshly cracked black pepper
  • 1 tbsp of kosher salt

Directions:

Turn oven on to 375 . Mix all ingredients in a large bowl.  In this instance clean hands will be your best friend to really get it mixed up well.  I use a cookie size scooper for getting the perfect amount of the mixture every time.  Roll in a ball and place on a lined half sheet pan.  Cook for 20 minutes. Allow to cool slightly and enjoy 🙂

IMG_0555 IMG_0556 IMG_0558

TIPS:

  • If you have a food processor use it for all the chopped ingredients, it really goes soooooo much faster.
  • I take tinfoil to line my half sheet pans and use pam spray so they don’t stick!
  • A small ice-cream scooper really get the perfect amount of meatball mixture every time so they cook evenly
  • Don’t overcook! If you want that soft melt in your mouth texture watch the clock! I actually under cook them a bit because once you take them out of the oven to rest the heat will still be cooking them as they sit! Also if  I am going to freeze them, well-done meatballs will give you a firmer texture when you go to rewarm them.

Leave a comment